Media Training Workshop for Steelworkers with the CFLPA

-

Register here for our online Media Training Workshop for Steelworkers, facilitated by USW Communications and featuring Ryan King from the Canadian Football League Players’ Association (CFLPA) (long-snapper with Edmonton).

What: A free 90-minute workshop for Steelworkers to learn from a professional athlete from the CFLPA how to prepare and handle media interviews – on TV, in radio and in print publications.

Who: this workshop is for Steelworkers Local Union Presidents and Executive members, bargaining committee members, those active with health and safety and those involved in USW Women’s Committees, Human Rights Committees and anyone else active with USW who is likely to be a USW spokesperson in the media.

When: There are two workshop dates to choose from –

Tuesday, Dec. 8 at 6:30 p.m. EST / 3:30 p.m. PST or
Tuesday, Dec. 15 at 8:30 p.m. EST / 5:30 p.m. PST

In this interactive workshop, Steelworkers will learn how to handle themselves in a media interview and practice simulated interviews in small groups. The session will be interactive and participants will get to engage with Ryan King about his media experiences throughout his football career.

Registration is now closed. We hope to offer this workshop again in 2021

The Steelworkers union and the CFLPA formed a strategic alliance in 2019 to share ideas and resources in the common goal of advancing rights and respect for employees in Canada.