The David Ellis Scholarship

Hello Steelworker Sister & Brothers,

The David Ellis Scholarship is part of the New Worker Awareness program. It is a health and safety scholarship award available to children and grandchildren of any Steelworker member. District 3 Director Steve Hunt, District 6 Director Marty Warren and District 5 Director Alain Croteau are offering five $500 scholarships for each District for 2019.

The scholarships will be awarded to high school students who write winning essays or produce videos on health and safety as selected by a panel of judges.

Details on how to apply to the scholarship are on the back panel of the brochure available for download here.

Submissions must be post-marked or emailed no later than June 30, 201.

Please print and distribute this brochure to your members.

Download the 2019 David Ellis Scholarship brochure.


Why We Remember David?

Every year in Canada, 30 young workers are killed on the job. David Ellis was killed on his second day at work.

He was 18.

Every year in Canada, 30 young workers are killed on the job. More than 40,000 are injured, many of them seriously. David Ellis didn't get the chance to fulfill his dreams. But in his memory - and in honour of all the other young workers killed or injured on the job - the United Steelworkers is making sure young workers know the risks and know their rights on the job. 

That's why in the week of April 28, the International Day of Mourning for workers killed and injured on the job, Steelworkers go into high schools across Canada and talk to students about staying healthy and safe in the workplace. 

And that's why we've established the David Ellis Scholarship for the children and grandchildren of Steelworkers. 

In David's honour, we will fight to make sure that young workers all come home from work healthy and safe.

For more information and details on how to apply - Download PDF


2018 recipients of the David Ellis Scholarship

District 3

District 5     

District 6

Austin Deck
Calgary, AB
Member: Darrell Deck
USW Local 6673


Anjali Parikh
Scarborough, ON
Member: Parmar Kalpeshkumar
USW Local 5296

Madisyn Kruger
Saskatoon, SK
Member: Darrin Kruger
USW Local 7552

  Adèle Tremblay
Kapuskasing, ON
Member: Gilles Tremblay
USW Local 2995


  Ash-Lee Draker
Hamilton, ON
Member: Jeffery Draker
USW Local 4153
    Anna Teolis
Sudbury, ON
Member: Derek Teolis
USW Local 2020
    Rosie Burke
Toronto, ON
Member: Colleen Burke
USW Local 1998