USW Leaders Welcome Lily Chang to Team Unite CLC

Lily Chang, Bea Bruske, Siobhan Vipond, candidates for CLC leadershipThe USW Canadian Directors welcome Lily Chang to the Team Unite CLC slate and offer our endorsement of Lily’s candidacy for Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC).

“Lily is a strong leader and communicator who values advocacy and member mobilization. With her years of experience as treasurer at a large CUPE local, she’s a great addition to Team Unite CLC, running for CLC Secretary-Treasurer,” said Ken Neumann, USW National Director.

On Feb. 7, the USW Canadian Directors endorsed Bea Bruske and Siobhan Vipond for President and Executive Vice-President at the upcoming CLC Convention in Vancouver (May 4-8).

“Our movement is strongest when we work together. I know that Bea, Lily and Siobhan are motivated to rebuild the unity of our movement through mobilizing and engaging our grassroots membership.”

The United Steelworkers union continues to believe in the viability and strength of the CLC despite challenges in recent years. The union knows the value a strong CLC can bring to all workers – not just those with the benefits of union membership. USW believes in the necessity of mobilizing together as a movement to make positive, progressive change for those who are marginalized and experiencing unfairness and injustice.

About Bea Bruske:

Bea is the Secretary-Treasurer of UFCW Local 832 in Manitoba, a local union of 20,000 members strong. Bea is also Vice-President of the UFCW Canada National Council, which helps set the strategic direction for UFCW in Canada.

Over the past three decades, Bea has served workers and families as an activist, workers’ advocate, negotiator, community organizer and leader. Bea’s passion for the rights of working people was ignited in 1987, when she and her UFCW Local 832 co-workers held the line strong for 164 days to achieve a fair contract at the Westfair grocery chain in Manitoba. 

Bea also serves on a number of other UFCW committees, health and welfare trusts and the Manitoba Federation of Labour. Bea is a former NDP candidate and is an executive board member of the Manitoba NDP.

About Lily Chang:

Lily is a long-serving executive member of CUPE 79, CUPE’s largest local representing 20,000 municipal workers at the City of Toronto. Lily is a strong advocate for fairness and a strategic communicator with a proven track record when it comes to managing the books. Lily was Treasurer for Local 79 for 13 years and is currently an elected officer of the local focusing on member advocacy and grievance resolution.

Lily is on the Executive Board of the Toronto and York Region Labour Council, chairs the Municipal Committee and is the Executive liaison to the Women’s Committee. Lily just completed a seven-year term as Labour Representative on the Board of Trustees for the United Way of Greater Toronto.

About Siobhan Vipond:

Siobhan is currently serving her fourth elected term as Secretary-Treasurer of the Alberta Federation of Labour (AFL). Siobhan works tirelessly to defend the rights of workers in both the private and public sector, and is an advocate on occupational health and safety, women's equality and the importance of workers' voices at all levels of government and industry. Siobhan is the Treasurer of the Alberta NDP.

Siobhan has been a key part of the AFL’s “Join the Resistance” campaign, pushing back against the numerous cuts by Jason Kenney’s provincial government. Under Siobhan's leadership, the AFL launched the Fair Start Campaign for Universal Early Childhood Education and Care in Alberta and is also the driving force behind labour’s increased participation in Pride events. Prior to the AFL, Siobhan worked as a stage and film technician and is a proud member of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE), where she served numerous roles at IATSE Local 210.

For more information or to sign up for campaign updates, please visit:

Press Inquiries

Thank You

Thank you for contacting us. We will try to get back to you in a timely manner.

Media Contacts

Communications Director:
Shannon Devine
416-544-5946 or

Communications Department:
Nicole Desnoyers

Communications Department - Québec
Clairandrée Cauchy

Mailing Address

United Steelworkers
234 Eglinton Ave. E., 8th Floor
Toronto, ON M4P 1K7