Marty Warren Statement for Black History Month

USW District 6 is pleased to continue its annual tradition of celebrating Black History month this February, virtually.

During the month of February, District 6 will acknowledge and recognize the vast contributions and sacrifices that Black workers have made toward shaping our union as well as our communities over the years. During the pandemic, District 6 continues its support for frontline health-care workers and essential workers, who continue to work each day to keep us all safe and to ensure our families have access to essential goods and services.

We recognize that there are a significant number of these important workers who are from the Black community. Their contributions during this unprecedented time are greatly appreciated.

The United Steelworkers union believes in diversity and equality and will work earnestly to eradicate all forms of discrimination within our workplaces and communities. We will continue to work with our political leaders to ensure meaningful progress is made to achieve this goal.

Please join our District 6 Human Rights and Women of Steel Committees on February 25 to celebrate this important month, virtually. We will also celebrate the election of Kamala Harris in the U.S. – the first American female Vice President of Black and Asian descent!

RSVP for the February 25 District 6 Black History Celebration
7 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. AT / 8:30 p.m. NT

In Solidarity 

Marty Warren
USW District 6 Director

Press Inquiries

Thank You

Thank you for contacting us. We will try to get back to you in a timely manner.

Media Contacts

Communications Director:
Shannon Devine
sdevine@usw.ca
416-544-5946 or
416-894-7118

Communications Department:
Nicole Desnoyers
ndesnoyers@usw.ca
416-544-5991 

Communications Department - Québec
Clairandrée Cauchy
ccauchy@metallos.ca
514-774-4001 

Mailing Address

United Steelworkers
234 Eglinton Ave. E., 8th Floor
Toronto, ON M4P 1K7