·  

Steelworkers Demand that Final Reports on 2014 Fatality be Released

Pascal Goulet

 TORONTO, THUNDER BAY -- The United Steelworkers union (USW) is demanding that the family of a man killed in 2014 at the North American Palladium Ltd. Lac des Iles mine be provided with the final reports on how 38-year-old Pascal Goulet died.

“This hide-and-seek game being played by the employer and the Ministry of Labour is prolonging the suffering and pain for Pascal’s family over a death that was preventable and for which no one has been held accountable,” says Marty Warren, Ontario/Atlantic Director of the United Steelworkers.

“Workplace fatalities should never be wrapped up so tightly in red tape that families are denied their right to know,” Warren said, adding that Goulet’s death should have been treated as a crime scene, with full investigation under provisions of the Criminal Code enacted in 2004.  

“Instead, work resumed at the Lac Des Iles mine less than 18 hours after Pascal was killed,” he said. “Now, the company is denying access to its final report. The Ministry of Labour and the company are also denying access to copies of charges filed against North American Palladium under the Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act.  

“This is cruel and unusual punishment for Melanie and her two children,” Warren said. “The USW is continuing to work with the family and demand that these reports be made available in an open and transparent way.  Our fallen brother deserves no less.”

###

For further information:

Marty Warren   416.243.8792; 519.504.9099; mwarren@usw.ca

Herb Daniher (USW Representative, Thunder Bay)  807.345.0371; 807.627.4759; hdaniher@usw.ca 

Sylvia Boyce (USW Health and Safety Coordinator) 416.544.5971; 905.741.9830; sboyce@usw.ca

Press Inquiries

Thank You

Thank you for contacting us. We will try to get back to you in a timely manner.

Media Contacts

Communications Director:
Bob Gallagher
bgallagher@usw.ca
416-544-5966 or
416-434-2221

Communications Department:
Karina Midence
communications@usw.ca
416-544-5991 

Communications Department - Québec
Clairandrée Cauchy
ccauchy@metallos.ca
514-774-4001 

Mailing Address

United Steelworkers
234 Eglinton Ave. E., 8th Floor
Toronto, ON M4P 1K7